Curriculum Booklet

Key Stage 3: Years 7 and 8

Subjects taught to all pupils include:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Modern Languages (Spanish and French)
  • Design Technology
  • History and Geography
  • Art
  • Computing
  • Music
  • Personal, Social, Health, Citizenship and Economic Education
  • Physical Education and Dance
  • Religious Studies
  • Careers Education and Guidance
  • Literacy for the 21st Century (Oracy, Drama and Media)

Key Stage 4: Years 9, 10 and 11

During this Key Stage all pupils follow the following compulsory subjects:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science
  • Religious Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Careers Education and Guidance
  • Sex, Drug and Health Education
  • Citizenship
  • Work Related Learning and Enterprise.

In addition, pupils are able to choose further courses of study reflecting their own interests and abilities. These include:

  • Art
  • Art 3D Design
  • Art Graphics
  • Art Textiles
  • Art Photography
  • Business Information Systems
  • Business Studies
  • Catering
  • Child Development
  • Computer Science
  • Construction
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Engineering
  • French
  • Geography
  • Health and Social Care
  • History
  • Hospitality
  • Information Communication Technology
  • Media Studies
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Product Design
  • Spanish

Curriculum Organisation

The school uses a number of different ways in which to group pupils, aimed at catering for their abilities and aptitudes to further personalise learning. Most subjects place pupils in ability sets which enable us to extend and challenge our most able students whilst supporting our pupils with additional needs.

Staff use different teaching and learning strategies which include whole class teaching, individual and group classroom activities and practical work. In-class teacher support and small extraction groups as well as intervention are used to help pupils with specific learning difficulties and to extend the most able.