PUBLIC EXAMINATIONS POLICY

It is the policy of the school to enter as many pupils as possible for public examinations at the appropriate level in all subjects. This ensures pupils leaving school have the best qualifications it is possible for them to achieve.

In addition, it provides an assessment from outside the school of the standard being achieve in the teaching of each subject. In general, pupils are entered for the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) examination. Pupils will be awarded grades on an eight point scale A*, A, B, C, D, E, F, G. From Summer 2017 a new nine point scale will be introduced, starting with English and Maths, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Within each subject there will be a choice of papers or questions which will give candidates of all abilities the opportunity to show what they understand, know and can do. Teachers will consequently have to guide pupils on which papers and / or questions to attempt.

Entry for examination in GCSE will, therefore, not only be concerned with the subject, but also the level expected within the subject. The school, however, will not enter pupils who have failed to complete the necessary coursework assignments or whose attendance and attitude have given little indication of their desire to be entered for the examinations.

Some pupils for whom 9 GCSE examinations is inappropriate, will study a combination of courses leading to GCSE’s and other nationally recognised qualifications.

Internal or Trial Examinations
We aim to give the younger pupils in the school the opportunity to learn about what to expect when they come to sit formal examinations as they progress to Key Stage 4.  Pupils will learn the rules and regulations that apply when they are taking these.  When they sit an exam they will be expected to follow instructions from invigilators, be organised and to have the correct equipment required.  Support and guidance will be offered for helping pupils to manage any anxieties that they may feel.

A list of examination dates appears below…

Year 7 CATS Mon 12/09/2016 – Fri 16/09/2016 [PAST]
Year 11 Food Technology Practical Exams 28/09/2016 - 20/10/2016 [PAST]
Year 11 Trial Exams Mon 21/11/2016 - Fri 2/12/2016 [PAST]
Year 10 Trial Exam Thu 1/12/2016 [PAST]
Year 8 Trial Exams Mon 09/01/2017 - Fri 13/01/2017 [PAST]
Year 11 External Exams 11/01/2017 - 13/01/2017 [PAST]
Year 9 Trial Exams Mon 16/01/2016 - Tue 24/01/2017 [PAST]
Year 11 Trial Exam Thu 2/03/2017 [PAST]
Year 10 Trial Exams Mon 06/03/2017 - Fri 17/03/2017 [PAST]
Year 11 Trial Exams Mon 20/03/2017 - Fri 24/03/2017 [PAST]
Year 7 Trial Exams Thu 20/04/2017 - Thu 27/04/2017 [PAST]
Year 11 GCSE/BTEC External Exams Tue 02/05/2017 - Mon 26/06/2017  
Year 10 GCSE Exam Wed 24/05/2017 [PAST]
Year 10 GCSE Exam Mon 05/06/2017 [PAST]
Year 10 GCSE Exam Thu 15/06/2017 [PAST]
Year 10 Trial Exam Thu 22/06/2017 [PAST]